Welcome to the New City Website!

We have created a modern, more user-friendly site with additional, comprehensive features to better serve our visitors. We hope you like it, and please continue to check back as more content gets added.


Diane J. Martinez, Mayor

Diane Martinez

Email Mayor Martinez

Diane J. Martinez, a lifelong resident of Paramount, has been a member of the City Council since 1994. She is currently serving her sixth term as Mayor.

Martinez earned her Bachelor’s degree in liberal studies from California State University, Long Beach. She went on to earn a teaching credential in multiple subjects, a preliminary credential in education administration, and a Master’s degree in education administration from California State University, Dominguez Hills. She is a full-time elementary school teacher in the El Rancho Unified School District.

Martinez is the City’s representative for the California Contract Cities Association, the League of California Cities, the Southern California Association of Governments, and the County Sanitation Districts of L.A. County Districts 1 & 2, and a member of the L.A. County City Selection Committee, Gateway Cities COG Board of Directors, Gateway Cities/COG SR-91/I-605/I-405 Corridor Cities Committee, the Paramount Sister City Committee, the City Council/Paramount School District Ad Hoc Committee, the Paramount Women’s Club, the Southern California Edison Advisory Board, and the St. Pius X/St. Pius Academy Advisory Board.

Tom Hansen, Vice Mayor

Tom Hansen

Call Vice Mayor Hansen
(562) 220-2029

Tom Hansen was born in Fullerton, CA, in 1945 and moved to Paramount in 1949. He attended Paramount public schools, and went to Compton College and then Palmer College of Chiropractic in Davenport, IA. He opened his chiropractic office in 1969 and moved to its current Paramount location in 1972.

Hansen has long been involved in the Paramount community as a 50-year member of the local Elks Lodge, former president of the Rotary Club, and former member of the board of directors of the Paramount Chamber of Commerce. He served on the City’s Parks and Recreation Commission in the early 1970s and was named to the Planning Commission in 1996. He was elected to the City Council in 2007 and has served two terms as Mayor and is currently serving his third term as Vice Mayor.

Hansen is the City’s representative for the Southeast Water Coalition, the Greater Los Angeles County Vector Control District, and the Los Angeles Community Choice Energy Authority, and a member of the Gateway Cities/COG I-710 Project Committee.

With wife Vivian, a longtime member of the Paramount Board of Education, Hansen has three children: Todd, Chad, and Amanda.

Laurie Guillen, Councilmember

Lori Guillen

Email Councilmember Guillen

Laurie Guillen was elected to the Paramount City Council in 2017. She is a lifelong resident of the City, attended school in the Paramount Unified School District, graduated from Paramount High in 1983, and went on to study at Cerritos College and California State University, Fullerton.  She has raised three children in her hometown – a doctor, a lawyer, and a deputy Sheriff.

Laurie joined the Los Angeles Police Department in 1987 and worked various assignments within the Department – patrol, narcotics, investigations, and administration. She has been a union delegate and a member of the PAC and Legal Committees of the Los Angeles Police Protective League. She has also been a law instructor for the Department. She retired in November of 2017.

In addition, Laurie has specific training and experience in conflict resolution, police litigation, and 3330 of the State of California Government Code.

Laurie volunteers for Veterans Affairs at the VA Long Beach Healthcare System, is a philanthropist for Parkinson’s disease, and a team coach for individuals with Parkinson’s. She is currently a member of the Paramount Women’s Club.

In her spare time, she enjoys travel, creating art, art appreciation, hiking, and camping. Laurie is also an environmental activist.

Daryl Hofmeyer, Councilmember

Daryl Hofmeyer

Email Councilmember Hofmeyer

Daryl Hofmeyer, a native of Primghar, IA, moved to California after serving with the Marines in the late 1950s and settled in Paramount. He is the owner of Romberg Milling and Paramount Cubing, one of the last businesses in town with roots in the City's former days as a leading dairy center.

Hofmeyer was elected to the City Council in 2003 and has served three terms as the City's Mayor. He previously served on the Parks and Recreation, Public Works, and Planning commissions. He is also the City's representative for Eco Rapid Transit and a member of the California Joint Powers Insurance Authority Board.

Peggy Lemons, Councilmember

Peggy Lemons

Email Councilmember Lemons

Peggy Lemons has been a member of the Paramount City Council since 1997.  She has served as the City’s Mayor for five terms.

She previously sat on the Public Safety Commission, and was named Public Safety Person of the Year by the California State Legislature. In addition, she has received the Soroptomists’ Woman of Distinction Award as well as the Paul Harris Award from the Rotary Club.

She is a member of the City Council/Paramount School District Ad Hoc Committee and was instrumental in launching the Paramount Education Partnership (PEP), a collaboration between the City, the Paramount Unified School District, and the Paramount Chamber of Commerce that stresses the connection between continuing education and future economic success. She is also a member of the Southeast Area Animal Control Authority Board.